a furry baby (don’t shop, ADOPT)

Posted: 04/12/2011 in burst my heart, fun fun fun, life, love

Due to all the Patrick  posts on FB etc and the horror stories regarding abused animals that have been in the front of my mind we adopted a rescue dog.

At first I wanted an adult, lets face it no one wants a “grown dog” the same way most people don’t want to adopt a grown child, sad but true. Unfortunately having a 2 year old and a 6 year old male dog already I had to get a puppy BUT she was a rescue. She was abandoned with her mother and sister on the side of the road in a box. The same foster “mom” had them for 3 weeks. Her sister was adopted on Thursday (4/7) and we adopted her on Saturday (4/9).

She is 10 weeks old and the sweetest most well behaved thing I ever met. only 1 accident in the house in all these days. There is definitely a soft spot in my heart where rescues are concerned and I get SO upset when people buy a dog at a pet store. Because essentially you are paying professional animal abusers to…keep abusing. Meanwhile there are thousands upon thousands of homeless pets out there.

Here she is Sweet Savannah

(Goes nicely with Hurricane Memphis don’tcha think??)

Comments
  1. Monica H says:

    Aw, she is a cutie! I don’t believe in paying for pets either. THere are so many homeless dogs out there that need a good home. If the ones in the shelters don’t get adopted, they eventually get euthanized. That’s so sad and heartbreaking yet people will spend hundreds and thousands of dollars on a dog. I don’t underdstand that. Autumn was found in the rain on the side of the road and she’s the best dog ever!

    Good for you!

  2. Kristin Call says:

    Hello! I know you don’t know me, but we’ve got something in common. I got your blog address off the Stirrup Queen’s blogroll and was wondering if you wouldn’t mind helping me help a couple who is trying to add a little one to their family. We’re holding a silent auction for them this weekend (Friday and Saturday) on goteamwitt.blogspot.com and need help getting the word out! We would love it if you would spread the word via social media or here on your blog. Additionally, we are always looking for more donations to auction off, so if you or someone you know might be interested in making a donation, all the information is under the donate tab. If you have any questions or would be willing to post a pre-written blog post about the auction and the sponsored couple, please contact Kristin at goteamwitt@gmail.com Thanks in advance for taking the time to consider this!

  3. christyna says:

    Savannah must be in what equates to dogs as the terrible two’s. yikes she was doing so good now shoes hide and shake in fear when left out in the open. and the living room rug had to be taken out and tossed. beyond pissed. other than that she’s great and I’m hoping will learn like her big brother shoe crimes do not pay!! ha ha. I love her to death. She’s my shadow when I’m home and she’s so cuddly and lovey. my very own princess in a house full of boys 🙂

Leave a Reply

